Charter Commission

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The mission of the Minnetonka Charter Commission is to oversee the city’s charter, which is the city’s constitution.

  • As an independent body, the charter commission represents citizen viewpoints and considers and recommends appropriate revisions to the charter, balancing the best interests of city government and the citizens.
  • The commission is comprised of up to 15 members. Members serve four-year terms and are appointed by the chief judge of the Hennepin County District Court.

City Charter Turns 50

Originally adopted in November of 1969, Minnetonka’s city charter turned 50 in 2019!

Minnetonka Charter Day (Nov. 4, 2019) Proclamation

Charter Commission Members

  • Karen Anderson
  • Sandal Hart
  • David Larson
  • John Northrup
  • Terry Schneider
  • Brad Wiersum
  • Linnea Sodergren
  • LuAnn Tolliver
  • John Cheleen

Charter Commission Membership

Appointments to the Charter Commission are made by Chief Judge Ivy S. Bernhardson. If you are interested in being considered for appointment to the commission, please provide your qualifications and request to:

Judge Ivy S. Bernhardson
Hennepin County Government Center
300 South Sixth Street
Minneapolis, MN 55487

Meeting Schedule, Agendas & Minutes

  • Meetings are held when necessary.
  • Agendas are posted to the table below prior to each meeting.
01/28/2020 7:00 p.m. Agenda:Agenda and materials
Agenda:Special Meeting Notice

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Download Acrobat Reader Flash Player Download Flash Player Windows Media Player Download Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Download Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Download Word Viewer Excel Viewer Download Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer Download PowerPoint Viewer